Celtic Media Festival 2016


20th - 22nd April 2016


The Celtic Media Festival exists to promote the cultures and languages of the Celtic countries in film, on television, radio and new media. Primarily this is achieved through the festival - the major annual activity of the organisation - and also through partnership events throughout the year. The Celtic Media Festival is also in a position to offer a distinctive view of the media industry through government consultations etc, which may otherwise be underrepresented.

The Celtic Media Festival administrators:

Michael Russell 1980 - 1983
Duncan MacLeod 1983 - 1994
Frances Hendron 1994 - 2007
Jude MacLaverty 2007 - 2010 
Jo Stein 2010-2011 
Catriona Logan 2011-present

It has been chaired by dedicated and respected individuals working in the broadcasting industry:

Irish Chairs:

Pádhraic Ó Ciardha, TG4 – Present Chair
Neasa Ní Chinnéide, RTÉ
Bob Collins, RTÉ
Con Bushe, RTÉ
Muiris MacConghail, RTÉ
Cathal Goan, RTÉ 

Scottish Chairs:

Donald Waters, Grampian Television
Neil Fraser, BBC Scotland
Maggie Cunningham, BBC Scotland
Domhnall Caimbeul, MG ALBA

Welsh Chairs:

Huw Jones, S4C
John Hefin, Wales Film Council
Owen Edwards, S4C

2014 - 35th Festival

St Ives, Cornwall
Festival Producer, Catriona Logan
Festival Co-Ordinator, Cleo Hetherington

2013 - 34th Festival

Swansea, Wales
Festival Producer, Catriona Logan
Festival Co-Ordinator, Ross Smyth

2012 - 33rd Festival

Derry/Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Festival Producer, Catriona Logan
Festival Co-Ordinator, Leona Buchanan

2011 - 32nd Festival

Stornoway, Scotland
Festival Producer, Jo Stein
Festival Co-Ordinator, Jenna Cunningham

2010 - 31st Festival

Newry, Northern Ireland
Festival Producer, Jude MacLaverty
Festival Co-Ordinator, Jo Stein

2009 - 30th Festival

Caernarfon, Wales
Festival Producer, Jude MacLaverty
Festival Co-Ordinator, Jo Stein

2008 - 29th Festival

Galway, Ireland
Festival Producer, Jude MacLaverty
Festival Team, Ed Blackburn, Sally Ni Dhuibhir

2007 - 28th Festival

Skye, Scotland
Chief Executive, Frances Hendron
Festival Producer, Jude MacLaverty / Katy McAulay

2006 - 27th Festival

Falmouth, Cornwall
Chief Executive, Frances Hendron
Festival Producer, Jude MacLaverty

2005 - 26th Festival

Cardiff, Wales
Festival Chairman, Bryn Roberts
Festival Producer, Hannah Raybould (Sgrin)

2004 - 25th Festival

Dundee, Scotland
Festival Chairman, Lesley Riddoch
Festival Producers, Jude MacLaverty and Frances Hendron

2003 - 24th Festival

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Festival Chairman, Professor Sean Fulton
Festival Producer, Jude Sharvin

2002 - 23rd Festival

Quimper, Brittany
Festival Chairman, Daniel Yonnet
Festival Producer, Xavier Perrin

2001 - 22nd Festival

Truro, Cornwall
Festival Chairman, Professor Alan Livingston
Festival Director, Karen Stockdale

2000 - 21st Festival

Aberystwyth, Wales
Festival Chairman, Derec Llwyd Morgan
Festival Producer, Menna Heulyn

1999 - 20th Festival

Skye, Scotland
Festival Chairman, Donald John MacInnes
Festival Director, Mark McLachlan

1998 - 19th Festival

Tralee, Ireland
Festival Chairman, Dr Tim Mahony
Festival Director, Doireann Ní Bhriain

1997 - 18th Festival

St Ives, Cornwall
This was the first time the Festival was hosted by Cornwall
Festival Chairman, James St Aubyn
Festival Director, Stephen Hall

1996 - 17th Festival

Bangor, Wales
Festival Chairman, R Alun Evans
Festival Director, Ewan Llwyd.

1995 - 16th Festival

Fortwilliam, Scotland
Festival Chairman, Sir Fraser Morrison
Festival Director, Lindsay Pollock

1994 - 15th Festival

Derry, Northern Ireland
Festival Chairman, Ivor Oswald
Festival Organiser, Suzy O'Hara

1993 - 14th Festival

Lorient, Brittany
Festival Chairman Louis Lichou
Festival Organiser Erwan Moalic

1992 - 13th Festival

Carmarthen, Wales
Festival Chairman D H Davies
Festival Organiser David Hedley Williams

1991 - 12th Festival

Inverness, Scotland
Festival Chairman Sir Iain Tennant KT
Festival Organiser Mairi Nicholson

1990 - 11th Festival

Gweedore, Ireland
Festival Chairman T P Hardiman
Festival Organiser Colm Ó Briain

1989 - 10th Festival

Roscoff, Brittany
Festival Chairman Recteur Henri Le Moal
Festival Organiser Erwan Moalic

1988 - 9th Festival

Caernarfon, Gwynedd, Wales
Festival Chairman Alwyn Roberts
Festival Organiser Sion Pyrs

1987 - 8th Festival

Inverness, Scotland
Festival Chairman Bob Cowan
Festival Organiser Kate Swan

1986 - 7th Festival

Newcastle, Co Down, Northern Ireland
Festival Chairman Sir Desmond Lorimer
Festival Organiser Alan Bremner

1985 - 6th Festival

Douarnenez and Rennes, Brittany
Festival Chairman Per Denez

1984 - 5th Festival

Cardiff, Wales
Festival Chairman John Elfed
Festival Organiser Ron Stewart

1983 - 4th Festival

Glasgow, Scotland

1982 - 3rd Festival

Wexford, Ireland

1981 - 2nd Festival

Harlech, Wales

1980 - 1st Festival

Western Isles, Scotland